Uptet News

Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Significant Victory in Andhra Pradesh; Oath Likely on June 9

Chandrababu Naidu, whose Telugu Desam Party (TDP), in alliance with the NDA, is set to reclaim Andhra Pradesh from Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), is expected to be sworn in as Chief Minister on June 9.

The TDP, led by Chandrababu Naidu, along with the BJP and Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party, is on the verge of ousting the current administration of YSRCP headed by Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy in Andhra Pradesh.

The election results show TDP securing 135 out of 175 Assembly seats, with the Jana Sena Party winning 21 seats, and the BJP capturing 8 seats, bringing the alliance’s total to 163. Meanwhile, the YSRCP, which ran solo, managed to win only 12 seats.

Sources have informed India Today that Naidu is likely to take the oath of office as Chief Minister on June 9 in Amaravati. Following the election outcome, Jagan Reddy conceded defeat and submitted his resignation to Andhra Pradesh Governor S Abdul Nazeer.

In a media address, the outgoing Chief Minister remarked, “I am unsure what went wrong for us, but I have genuinely served the people. I have provided a voice to the voiceless. Best wishes to the victors,” said the YSRCP leader.

Reddy also convened an internal meeting within the YSRCP to evaluate the current scenario.

Meanwhile, Chandrababu Naidu spoke with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah after the NDA alliance’s impressive performance in Andhra Pradesh. Naidu extended his congratulations to both PM Modi and Shah on the alliance’s significant seat win.

Both PM Modi and Amit Shah congratulated Chandrababu Naidu in return, for which the TDP leader expressed his gratitude.

The India Today-Axis My India exit poll had predicted a substantial victory for the NDA alliance in the Andhra Pradesh assembly elections, with the TDP-BJP-JSP coalition expected to win between 98 and 120 seats. As of the latest updates, the alliance had secured three seats and was leading in 157 constituencies. The YSRCP was anticipated to win between 55 and 77 seats but had so far won none and was leading in only 15.

Under the seat-sharing arrangement, the TDP contested 144 Assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats, while the BJP fielded candidates in 6 Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly constituencies. The Jana Sena Party contested 2 Lok Sabha and 21 Assembly seats.

This result signifies a robust comeback for the TDP, which had faced a significant defeat by the younger Jagan Reddy in the previous elections.

Leave a Comment